Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Join
IWCA History: It All Began in Texas...
Share |

In 1989, a group of window cleaners met in Lubbock, Texas who determined that there should be a voice for the numerous professionals working within the window cleaning industry. Soon after that initial meeting, the International Window Cleaning Association was formed. From that day forward, it has been the mission of the IWCA to educate and assist its members in developing professionalism, ethics and standards of safety and to actively represent the concerns and interests of window cleaning companies. Read about IWCA's Historical Perspective on Safety


Past Conventions & Trade Shows


2018 Embassy Suites Orlando Kissimmee, FL
2017 WeKoPa Resort Scottsdale, AZ
2016 Sandestin Resort Destin, FL
2015 WeKoPa Resort Scottsdale, AZ
2014 Peabody Hotel Memphis, TN
2013 TradeWinds Resort St. Pete Beach, FL
2012 Hyatt Regency New Orleans, LA
2011 TradeWinds Resort St. Pete Beach, FL
2010 Silver Legacy Resort & Casino Reno, NV
2009 Renaissance Waverly Atlanta, GA
2008 Town & Country Hotel San Diego, CA
2007 Gaylord Opryland Hotel Nashville, TN
2006 Phoenix Marriott Mesa Mesa, AZ
2005 Hilton Walt Disney World Orlando, FL
2004 Hotel Inter-Continental Dallas, TX
2003 Renaissance Waverly Atlanta, GA
2002 John Ascuaga’s Nugget Hotel Reno, NV
2001 OmniShoreham Hotel Washington D.C.
2000 Disneyland Hotel Anaheim, CA
1999 Opryland Hotel Nashville, TN
1998 Marriott Rivercenter San Antonio, TX
1997 Bally’s Las Vegas Las Vegas, NV
1996 Hyatt Orlando Orlando, FL
1995 Clarion Hotel New Orleans, LA
1994 John Ascuaga’s Nugget Hotel Reno, NV
1993 Ramada Resort West Palm Beach, FL
1992 Holiday Inn North San Antonio, TX
1991 Town & Country Hotel San Diego, CA
1990 Sheraton Orlando North Orlando, FL



Window Cleaning Contests

Jim Willingham Speed Competition
No one can mention Jim Willingham without smiling. Willingham, in his trademark hat, coaching the "youngsters” during convention in the speed contest, his own prowess with the squeegee and his enthusiasm for the "sport” of speed window cleaning have all led the IWCA Board to christen the speed contest the "Jim Willingham Speed Competition.” Willingham, also integral to the founding of the IWCA, was a past president and Lifetime Achievement Award winner and a successful business owner. He lost his battle with cancer in 2008.

Rod Woodward Medley Competition
The medley contest has been named in honor of Rod Woodward, whose contributions to the window cleaning industry include being one of the founders of American Window Cleaner magazine, inventing the "Super System” at Ettore, and being one of the driving forces behind the IWCA. He was touted as a visionary, an inspiration and a real advocate for the window cleaning community. He lost his battle with kidney disease in 1989.


Ettore Award Winners

The award itself states that it is "presented to a person who has shown unselfish devotion and support to the IWCA.” We are looking for candidates who you feel have been instrumental in helping the International Window Cleaning Association accomplish its goals. Being a past or present board member does not, in itself, denote worthiness. Many members at large have worked quietly, consistently and devotedly over many years to support the IWCA and should be considered.

Diane Smahlik, CEO of Ettore, created the award and has set forth the following criteria: "Prime consideration should be given to anyone who has shown unselfish support and devotion to the IWCA over the past year. However, if no one person outstandingly fits that description, than anyone who has, over a longer period of time (up to the past 5 years), show consistent, unselfish support and devotion to IWCA, should be considered.”


The following is a list of those individuals who have previously earned this honor.


2018 Paul Collum, Fish Window Cleaning, Inc. 

2016 Mark. S. Reinhart, Window Cleaning Services, Inc.

2014 Brent Weingrad, Expert Window Cleaning

2013 Alan Burton, Everclean Enterprises, Inc.

2012 Dan Dvoark, Valcourt Building Services
2011 Dave Grady, Tri-State Window Cleaning
2010 Paul West, Extra Clean, Inc.
2009 Jonathan Hood, Excellent Window Cleaning
2008 Kynan Wynne, VIP Building Services
2007 Sam Terry, Sparkling Clean Window Cleaning Inc.
2006 Larry Green, Clean & Polish
2005Jim Grady, Tri-State Window Cleaning, Inc.
2004 Bob Zeolla of Sunset Cleaning Company, Inc.
2004 Tom Trinen of Service One Inc.
2003 Theresa Martin of Martin’s Window Cleaning Corporation

2002 Stefan Bright, IWCA
2002 Tom McGrath of Scottie’s Building Services

2001 John Long III, LWC Services, Inc
2000 Roy Hereth, Roy’s Window Service, Inc.
1999 Vickie Eubanks, South Shore Building Services, Inc.
1998 Carl Pedersen, General Window Cleaning Co.
1997 John McGrath, Scottie’s Building Services, Inc.
1996 Dana Taylor, Martin’s Window Cleaning Corp.
1995 LaRue Coleman, JOBS Building Services
1995 Bob Ertel, J. Racenstein & Co., Inc.
1994 Jon Capon, Valcourt Building Services
1993 Stefan Bright, IWCA
1992 Vickie Wagner, A-1 Orange Cleaning Service, Co.
1991 Jim and Jacinda Willingham, New Day Window Cleaning



 Lifetime Achievement Award

The IWCA Lifetime Achievement Award was established to honor a current or former individual member of the IWCA who has made major life-long contribution to the window cleaning industry as a practicing window cleaner, supplier, promoter or leader. This award is the ultimate recognition award of the IWCA. It is above and beyond honorary membership. The Lifetime Achievement Award is extremely elite and not intended to be awarded each year.

In 2018 the Lifetime Achievement Award was renamed in honor of Carl Pedersen, founding member and first elected president of IWCA. Sörbo Samuelsson of Sörbo Products is the first recipient of the Carl Pedersen Lifetime Achievement Award.

The following is a list of those individuals who have previously earned this honor.
2011 No Award Given
2010 Theresa Martin
2009 No Award Given
2008 Carl Pedersen
2007 Jim and Jacinda Willingham
2006 Jeffrey Valcourt
2005 No Award Given
2004 No Award Given
2003 No Award Given
2002 Michael and Diane Smahlik
2001 Jacque Couture






Community Search
Latest News